Ethics & Public Policy Center

Reclaiming Constitutional Prerogatives

Published in National Review Online on March 14, 2019

The Senate’s passage of the resolution of disapproval rejecting President Trump’s emergency declaration is good news, for all the reasons the editors laid out yesterday. Twelve Republicans voted for the resolution: Lamar Alexander, Roy Blunt, Susan Collins, Mike Lee, Jerry Moran, Lisa Murkowski, Rand Paul, Rob Portman, Mitt Romney, Marco Rubio, Pat Toomey, and Roger Wicker. They run the full ideological gamut in the party, and we can presume their reasons for voting as they did are varied, but they all deserve credit for standing up for the fundamental character of our Constitution.

Comments are closed.