Publications

Christian Conviction and Democratic Etiquette

George Weigel

According to a bit of street wisdom that has worked its way into the national vocabulary, “You got to walk…

Uncategorized

First Things / March 1, 1994

Idealism Without Illusions

George Weigel

"In the tradition of John Courtney Murray and Reinhold Niebuhr, George Weigel has become one of the outstanding social critics of our time. This book of his presents a vision of American foreign policy for the 1990s which would reconcile the imperatives of Realpolitik with the moral fervor of the American culture." –Eugene V. Rostow, National Defense University

Articles

Syndicated Column / March 1, 1994

For Peace in Europe

George Weigel

The holidays are over. No, not just the seasonal celebrations of Hanukkah, Christmas, and the new year, but the vacation…

Uncategorized

Syndicated Column / February 1, 1994

The Centrality of Europe

George Weigel

The prospect of a nuclear-armed North Korea led by the irrational Kim Il-sung or his heirs would have unhappy consequences…

Uncategorized

Syndicated Column / February 1, 1994

The Dilemma of Russia

George Weigel

Seeing Russia clearly has never been easy for western Europeans or Americans. There is the sheer size, the raw geographic…

Uncategorized

Syndicated Column / February 1, 1994

A Complex of Complexities

George Weigel

But granting both the magnitude of that reformist task and the grudging minimalism of the Western response to it, one…

Uncategorized

Syndicated Column / February 1, 1994

Storm Warnings

George Weigel

So, yes, by all means, let us move ahead with aid to Russia and support for economic and political reform…

Uncategorized

Syndicated Column / February 1, 1994

Muscular Diplomacy

George Weigel

Russian foreign minister Andrei Kozyrev has also been making increasingly assertive statements in recent months. He has claimed “the entire…

Uncategorized

Syndicated Column / February 1, 1994

The Case for the New NATO

George Weigel

Strategic thinking begins with goals. What should be America’s goals in central and eastern Europe over the next twenty years?…

Uncategorized

Syndicated Column / February 1, 1994

Policy Toward Russia

George Weigel

The first thing Russia must understand is that the United States wants reform to succeed there. We want, in other…

Uncategorized

Syndicated Column / February 1, 1994

Policy Toward Ukraine

George Weigel

No one can be sure how the struggle within the present reform coalition in Russia will play out, or whether…

Uncategorized

Syndicated Column / February 1, 1994

Policy Toward Central Europe

George Weigel

Then there is the question of NATO. The negative U.S. response to the Visegrad Group’s application for immediate NATO membership…

Uncategorized

Syndicated Column / February 1, 1994